Monthly Wage Reporting
Good news for employers who experienced difficulty in monthly wage reporting
8/14/15 - The Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES) will provide relief to employers who tried their level best to comply with the new e-filing wage reporting requirement but were unable to for legitimate reasons.
IDES is issuing $16 million in refunds and/or credits, including associated interest charges, to nearly 13,000 Illinois employers who experienced difficulties in transitioning to monthly wage reports as required under the Medicaid reform legislation passed in 2012. The Department began its two-phase reimbursement process on Aug. 13 – with $1.5 million issued to approximately 4,000 impacted employers and $14.5 million to be issued to the remaining impacted employers by the end of the 4th quarter.
In 2013, IDES implemented rules under the Illinois Unemployment Insurance Act which 1) required employers who had 25 or more employees in the previous calendar year to file monthly electronic wage reports and 2) phased in the monthly reporting through July 2014, as required under the SMART ACT, also referred to as the Illinois Medicaid Reform Act of 2012. Both the business and labor communities agreed on these requirements to help combat Medicaid fraud and limit eligibility to those whose incomes qualify them for the program. However, many Illinois employers experienced problems transitioning to the new requirements, and as a result, incurred penalties and interest charges.
To address this issue, the Department adopted new rules to:
• Remove penalties and interest employers incurred as a result of confusion over the electronic reporting requirement’s implementation schedule,
• Retroactively aligns the electronic reporting requirement with the existing monthly reporting implementation schedule, and
• Waive up to the first two quarters’ of penalties for late monthly reports, as long as the employer submitted quarterly reports for that same quarter in a timely manner.
The Department will continue its efforts to enhance the wage reporting system and prevent Unemployment Insurance benefit fraud to help save Illinois taxpayers hundreds of millions of dollars each year. Additional information on the refunds/credits to eligible employers is also available through the Employer Hotline (800) 247-4984.
Thank you for using TaxNet to file your Employer’s Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report (UI-3/40).
This is a reminder that your quarterly UI 3/40 Contribution and Wage Report and payment are due as scheduled: Quarter ending March 31st, due April 30th, Quarter ending June 30th, due July 31st, Quarter ending September 30th, due October 31st and Quarter ending December 31st, due January 31st. Penalty and interest can be incurred if payment and report have not been transmitted to IDES timely as scheduled. Paying your contributions online through ACH Debit is a safe and convenient way to make your payment and receive confirmation of timely payment.
If you are paying by check, you can logon to TaxNet, select Unemployment Insurance, select Year and Quarter, Enter Payment Amount, Click on Next, Print Payment Coupon on display. Attach the payment coupon to your check and mail it to the address shown: IDES, P.O. Box 19300, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9300.
If you have questions, please call us at the Employer Hotline Unit at the toll-free number 800-247-4984, or e-mail us at DES.TaxnetAD@illinois.gov
The website is best viewed with Internet Explorer (IE) 9, 10 or FireFox. Select the Download button below to be directed to the Internet Explorer download site.